Upper Hunter Library Network logo

Cover image of A stranger in the houseA stranger in the house
By Shari Lapena
Find this book
Rating: ★   ★   ★   ★ - 4 Stars
Genre: Thriller
A lovely leisurely Saturday afternoon, sitting in the cool breeze sharing the twists and turns of this page turner of a story. Big print! Added Bonus!! Would recommend this book to a friend.

Cover image of Nine Perfect StrangersNine Perfect Strangers
By Liane Moriarty
Find this book: Large Print, Standard Print, Audio Book, eBook
Rating: ★   ★   ★   ★ - 4 Stars
Genre: Psychological Fiction, Australian Fiction
Really enjoyed the twists and turns and surprises in this novel! Would recommend this book to a friend.

Book of the Year
Dark Emu, Bruce Pascoe (Magabala Books)
Find this book

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
Locust Girl. A Lovesong, Merlinda Bobis (Spinifex Press)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing
An Astronaut’s Life, Sonja Dechian (Text Publishing)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non‐fiction
Reckoning: A Memoir, Magda Szubanski (Text Publishing)
Find this book
Find this ebook

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
brush, Joanne Burns (Giramondo)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
Teacup, Rebecca Young & Matt Ottley (Scholastic Australia)
Find this book

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature
Laurinda, Alice Pung (Black Inc.)

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting
The Bleeding Tree, Angus Cerini (Currency Press in association with Griffin Theatre Company)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting
Deadline Gallipoli, Episode 4: “The Letter”, Cate Shortland (Matchbox Pictures)

Multicultural NSW Award
Good Muslim Boy, Osamah Sami (Hardie Grant Books)
Find this book

Indigenous Writers Prize
JOINT WINNERS:
Dark Emu, Bruce Pascoe (Magabala Books)
Find this book
Heat and Light, Ellen van Neerven (University of Queensland Press)
Find this book

People’s Choice Award
The Life of Houses, Lisa Gorton (Giramondo)

Cover image of Dead to me by Lesley PearceDead to me
By Lesley Pearce
Find this book: Printed or eBook
Rating: ★   ★   ★   ★ - 4 Stars
Genre: Historical Fiction

Told a great story of friendship hardship and love.

Would recommend this book to a friend.

The Pursuit / Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg

Find this book
Genre: Detective/Thriller

This is the new Fox & O’Hare mystery, the fifth book in this co-authored series about suave con-man Nick Fox and straight-laced FBI agent Kate O’Hare working together to take down some of the world’s worst criminals. To the outside world Fox is a mastermind thief and most-wanted fugitive, whom Agent O’Hare is obsessed with tracking down. But covertly, the FBI task Fox and O’Hare to stop renowned diamond thief and psychopath, Dragan Kovic, from pulling off a crime that will kill thousands of people and devastate global financial markets. This novel is set in the sewers of the city of love, Paris, and the two crime fighters’ relationship is finally heating up!

If you are familiar with Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum novels you know her writing is sassy, funny and fast-paced with a decent mystery plot to keep you entertained. If you want a light mystery that will make you laugh, but won’t make you too squeamish, this is the book for you.

Turbo twenty-three
By Janet Evanovich
Find this book
Series: Stephanie Plum
Genre: Detective Fiction

In this next installment of the adventurous life of bounty hunter Stephanie Plum, Plum is chasing a crook who has skipped bail. With a trail of clues leading to a body topped in ice cream toppings, Plum decides to go undercover in the local ice cream factory to catch the killer and solve the mystery.   

This book also has a a touch of romantic intrigue with our heroine being tempted by a 'hot' mystery man even though she is sort of engaged to being engaged to Joe Morelli her Trenton cop who she has a special relationship with.

I really enjoyed this book as I have the rest of the series. The best part is that this book is great as a stand alone novel if you haven't read any of the other Stephanie Plum books - although you might find yourself hooked like me once you've had your first taste.

An Echo in the BoneAn Echo in the Bone (Outlander #7) / Diana Gabaldon

Find this book
Rating: ★   ★   ★  ★ - 4 Stars
Genre: Historical Fiction/Fantasy

Jamie and Claire Fraser are back again in this seventh novel in the Outlander series which follows the story of Jacobite highlander Jamie Fraser and his time travelling wife Claire Fraser as they navigate through the Scottish uprising and American Revolution.

Jamie and Claire have had to flee from North Carolina with the American Revolution at its peak and personal danger becoming too great. Meanwhile, their daughter Brianna and her husband Roger have fled to the present day 20th century and are looking for clues as to the fate of their family they left behind.  

Once again Gabaldon has given us a novel rich in historical detail and a story dripping in personal intrigue. Admittedly I am a huge outlander fan and have thoroughly enjoyed journey through the past and back again with Jamie and Claire. However I found myself a little disappointed with the execution of the multilayered storyline. Unlike the previous books in the series which followed Jamie and Claire’s storyline, this novel attempts to share this spotlight with the stories of Brianna & Roger, Jamie’s nephew Ian Murray and Jamie’s illegitimate son William – a technique which, for me, diluted major plot points leaving me wishing for a little more.

BUT all is forgiven for me due to the dedication to historical detail and the cliff hanger ending which will definitely see me reaching for the next novel in the series.

Queen of Spies: Daphne Park, Britain's Cold War Spy Master
By Paddy Hayes
Find this book
Rating: ★   ★   ★    - 3 Stars
Genre: Biography

Biography charting  the life of Daphne Park. Raised during her younger years in Africa, Daphne moved to London when she was 11 years old.

This biography, although slightly disjointed in writing style, captured my interest as I journeyed through the Cold War seeing events through the experience of a gutsy woman who became one of the highest ranking Females of the British Secret Service (SIS).

Recommend this book for those interested in biographies, intelligence and women's history.

The Reluctant JillarooThe Reluctant Jillaroo / Kaz Delaney

Find this book
Rating: ★   ★   ★  ★   ★ - 5 Stars
Genre: Young Adult/ Romance/ Mystery

Harper Gage has won the opportunity of a lifetime – ten days at Winmaroo Jillaroo and Jackaroo school. The camp could give her the recommendation she needs to go to the exclusive Agricoll for years 11 and 12. But when an accident leaves Harper hospitalised, her twin sister, Heidi, goes in her place. The only problem is that Heidi is not much of a country girl – not like her sister. And to make life even more complicated, her sister’s biggest rival Trent is going to be there. Will she be able to fool him?


And then the reality of the school hits Heidi hard. It’s all dust, snakes and heat – a million miles away from the surf she loves. When she meets the fun and handsome Chaz, life at the school suddenly doesn’t seem so bad, although with Trent acting up and trouble brewing with the other students, Heidi’s not sure how long she can keep her identity secret. And if her secret is revealed, will Chaz ever be able to trust her again?


Once again Kaz Delaney had me awake until 3am finishing one of her books. Read, finished, and loved the same day I got it and it was wonderful from start to finish! Heidi is a great and admirable character. She’s a Batman lover (a great start), but she is also friendly and welcoming, even when she is out of her depth, and her loyalty and determination outweigh her fears and trepidations. She’s uncertain in her surroundings but she is strong and determined, not willing to let her sister down. There really is so much to love about this story, it’s fun, suspenseful, and filled with mystery and madness that keeps you hooked from the start, not to mention an ending that will amaze!

 

The Honeyfield Bequest / Anna Jacobs
Find this book
Rating: ★   ★   ★  ★   - 4 Stars
Genre: Historical Fiction

1901, Wiltshire. Young Kathleen Keller is being forced into marriage with a man she despises by her cruel father. In an act of desperation, she runs away in a bid for a safer life, although one she might not have otherwise have chosen. But when tragedy strikes, Kathleen is left vulnerable and one man threatens the fragile peace she has made for herself.

Meanwhile, Nathan Perry works for his father's accountancy firm but yearns for something more satisfying. He is brought in to help with the purchase of Honeyfield House, intended as a safe house for women in trouble by a charitable benefactor, and there encounters Kathleen. Their lives are set to intertwine and neither will be the same again.

I loved this novel. Anna Jacobs has once again combined a story rich in historical detail with a gripping edge of your seat saga. This is the first novel in a series. Kathleen's story is not unlike the story of many women during this time period making it even more heart wrenching as you follow her journey.

YellowYellow / Megan Jacobson

Find this book
Rating: ★   ★   ★  ★   ★ - 5 Stars
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal

If fourteen-year-old Kirra is having a mid-life crisis now, then it doesn’t bode well for her life expectancy. Her so-called friends bully her, whatever semblance of a mother she had has been drowned at the bottom of a gin bottle ever since her dad left them for another woman, and now a teenage ghost is speaking to her through a broken phone booth. Kirra and the ghost make a pact. She’ll prove who murdered him almost twenty years ago if he does three things for her. He makes her popular, he gets her parents back together, and he doesn’t haunt her. Things aren’t so simple however, and Kirra realises that people can be haunted in more ways than one.


To quote a line from an incredibly wise author by the name of Megan Jacobson, “this is the kind of book that makes you stop and just rest the pages on your chest from the truth of it”. Yellow is a brilliant, emotionally charged book that reveals so much about the various struggles in people’s lives. There is an incredible amount of beauty and honesty and raw strength in this story; Jacobson captures so much from so many angles and connects them together into this life of a fourteen-year-old.